This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Mohammad Shahzad Back in Afghanistan Team for Bangladesh T20Is

The 16-person Afghanistan Cricket Board roster for the two T20I matches against Bangladesh has been revealed, and fast bowler Wafadar Momand, who has never played for his country, has been added. Star wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad and opener Hazratullah Zazai are also members of the Afghan team.

A three-match ODI series between Afghanistan and Bangladesh is scheduled to begin on July 5 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram.

Both teams will travel to Sylhet for the two-match T20I series, which will begin on July 14 at Sylhet District Stadium, after the ODI series concludes on July 11. Asadullah Khan, the chief selector for the Afghanistan Cricket Board, said that Mohammad Shahzad’s inclusion in the team again was based on his recent domestic cricket performances.

“We brought Shahzad as we feel that we should have an attacking batter as a backup for the opening slot because anything can happen in cricket. He is currently the best option and performed well in the domestic tournament. He shows that he is ready for T20Is, and we are starting the process now for the next T20 World Cup; we will see the players in typical roles, and later, we will decide,” Asadullah said, reported by Cricbuzz.

“We brought Momand because he has an excellent pace and showed that in camps and domestic cricket. As I said before, we are looking at the players so that we can decide regarding the final squad for the World Cup,” he added.

Rashid Khan will captain Afghanistan in the series after being rested for the lone Test against Bangladesh last month.

Along with Fazalhaq Farooqi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Fareed Ahmad, and Karim Janat, Naveen-ul-Haq, who has stepped away from ODI cricket but remains active in T20 cricket, will make up the seam attack. Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Noor Ahmad would support Rashid in the spin attack.

Afghanistan squad: Rashid Khan (capt), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Hazratullah Zazai, Mohammad Shahzad, Ibrahim Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Sediq Atal, Karim Janat, Azmatullah Omarzai, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-ul-Haq, Wafadar Momand, Farid Ahmad, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman