This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Govt to set up 3 plants to produce 370MW solar power

Cabinet okays the projects today

Representational image. File photo

The government is going to set up three solar-based power plants in order to produce 370 megawatt (MW) of electricity in the country.

The cabinet committee on public purchase today approved three separate proposals for the projects, each of which will have a 20-year tenure, according to a press release.

For all latest news, follow The Daily Star's Google News channel.

Of them, a 200MW plant would be built in the neighbourhood of Barapukuria Coal mine in Dinajpur with the cost of Tk 7,168.80 crore.

The second one will be a 70MW solar power plant in Lama upazila of Bandarban involving Tk 2,486.40 crore.

Another 100MW plant will be set up in Sonagazi upazila of Feni. The solar-based power plant will cost Tk 3,580.80 crore.