Papua New Guinea
This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Melanesian Cup heads to Wabag


The forthcoming Melanesian Cup has been slated next for Wabag, Enga Province.

The annual challenge played between the champion clubs of Fiji and Papua New Guinea, has tentatively lined up Wabag’s Aipus Oval as the next host.

This follows the confirmation of this year’s Exxon Digicel Cup winner, the Enga Mioks, after they beat the Goroka Lahanis 26-6 in the Grand Final last Sunday.

This weekend, the winner of the Fiji National Rugby League Vodafone Super 8 competition will be decided between Nadera Panthers and Saru Dragons in the Grand Final

Mioks team manager Sam Koi (pictured) this week confirmed that that they have been advised of the prospective plan to host the Melanesian Cup.

Franchise owner Simon Sia was recognised for his immense contribution to the growth and development of rugby league in the country, earning the spectacular Full Time Reservist Excellence Award on Monday night.

The late Digicel ExxonMobil Cup awards night was held at the APEC Haus in Port Moresby which was specifically hosted to document those special people behind every team and those that put in their extra efforts to market their talents.

Bintangor Goroka Lahanis boss Sia, who is also the governor of Eastern Highlands was given the reward by PNG Rugby Football League chairman Sandis Tsaka, who initiated the idea four years ago by himself to recognise and uplift the morals of those working behind the scenes.

“The last reward was received by late David Silivo, it was a privilege, presenting the award to him,” PNGRFL chairman Tsaka said.

“He passed on four weeks after receiving this award.

“But for this year’s awardee, is somebody that involve in the game for a very long time.

“He supports the game and franchise for more than 20-years and he is Simon Sia of Bintangor Goroka Lahanis.”

Meanwhile, Enga Mikos topped the awards list while running second was Hela Wigmen in counts, with Rabaul Gurias and Goroka Lahanis also grabbed their shares.

The 2023 Digicel ExxonMobil Cup Awards:
Player of the Year – Garry James – Enga Mioks
Rookie of the Year – Manu Sent – Goroka Lahanis
Top point scorer – Elizah Rotinga – Kimbe Cutters
Top try scorer – Cyrill Seiba – Hela Wigmen
People’s Choice Award – Robert Mathias – Lae Tigers
Club of the Year – Enga Mioks
Coach of the Year – Billy Gau – Enga Mioks
Referee of the Year – Leonard Alphonse
Fullback of the year – Junior Bobby – Central Dabaris
Winger of the year – Cyril Seiba – Hela Wigmen
Centre of the Year- Elijah Rotinga – Kimbe Cutters
Five-eight of the year- Garry James – Enga Mioks
Half-back of the year- Solomon Pokare – Hela Wigmen
Hooker of the Year – Nathan Tente – Rabaul Gurias
Prop of the year – Ishmael Waine – Mendi Muruks
Second Row of the year – Atua Joshua – Hela Wigmen
Lock of the Year – Supa Kokote – Enga Mioks
Fulltime Reserve Excellence Award – Simon Sia (EHP governor and Goroka Lahanis sponsor)