South Africa
This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Blitzboks live: Follow the South African Sevens team in Dubai – Day One

The Blitzboks continue their Sevens Series campaign in Dubai looking to make it a clean sweep on day one when they face Great Britain from 18:33 (SAST).

Blitzboks live

The Blitzboks made it two wins from two outings when they defeated a stubborn Ireland 21-12 on day one of the second HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series tournament in Dubai on Friday afternoon.

Earlier, the Blitzboks scored eight tries in their 48-0 victory over Japan to start their quest for a second tournament win in two weeks. Interestingly, all of the eight tries were scored by a different player, with the Blitzboks scoring 24 unanswered points in each half.

Impi Visser, JC Pretorius, Shilton van Wyk and Siviwe Soyizwapi all got onto the scoresheet after an almost flawless first half, denying Japan any decent scoring chance.

The second half was equally impressive, with Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Ronald Brown and Shaun Williams each crossing the whitewash for a comfortable win.

The Blitzboks were very efficient in securing possession from kick-offs, with their strike runners doing the damage out wide at regular intervals.

Their first-time tackling was also spot-on and they competed with power and precision at the breakdown – all of which made for a very good outing in their first Pool A match of the day.

United Rugby Championship: Sharks vs Bulls – Live Scores

Against the Irish, the Blitzboks led 7-0 at halftime courtesy of Shilton van Wyk’s converted try.

Selvyn Davids, their influential playmaker, scored shortly after the resumption while Impi Visser also dotted down for a converted try to put the game out of reach of the Irish.

Ireland were difficult opponents and forced the South Africans into a number of errors. Terry Kennedy went over to gave the Irish hope with the score at 14-5, however, Visser’s powerful run through the middle to score near the poles clinched the game for the Blitzboks.

The Irish were rewarded for their determination when Aaron O’Sullivan crashed over in the left corner for a consolation converted try.

Neil Powell’s side now face Great Britain – who also won their two matches to date – today at 18h33 in the final Pool A fixture to determine the group winner.


GAME 1: Springbok Sevens 48 (24) Japan 0

Springbok Sevens – Tries: Impi Visser, JC Pretorius, Shilton, Wyk , Siviwe Soyizwapi, Zain Davids, Selvyn Davids, Ronald Brown, Shaun Williams. Conversions: Branco du Preez (2), Brown (2).

GAME 2: Springbok Sevens 21 (7) Ireland 12 (0)

Springbok Sevens – Tries: Shilton van Wyk, Selvyn Davids, Impi Visser. Conversion: Branco du Preez, Ronald Brown (2).

Ireland – Tries: Terry Kennedy, Aaron O’ Sullivan. Conversion: Mark Roche.