This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Lastrup Pass wins Thai Gibbs victory in Road America

Article author:



Plymouth, Wisconsin – With Paul Winner's Kyle Larson's stunning pass on the final lap of overtime, Tygibbs won Henry 180 on Saturday in Road America.

Larson led the white flag, but Gibbs ran down the front stretch and passed Larson's 17th Chevrolet on turns 1 and 2. Gibbs took advantage of the inward opening on turns 3 and 2. His No. past Larson for the lead and victory. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Powered Toyota.

The victory was Gibbs' first victory in Road America. His fourth and 34th career of the season, the eighth in his career, begins with the NASCARXfinity series.

"This is amazing," said Gibbs, who had just defeated the NASCAR Cup Series champion head-on. "I can't believe it. This is great.

" I think the first half of the track was a bit fast ... Hopefully a lot of people were watching. It's cool to be here. Cup It's a cool race with the guys in the series. Hopefully it says something. "

Larson is the last corner of the penultimate lap on the 4.048 mile road course. I felt that I lost momentum on turn 14).

"It really started with my last corner whitening — I couldn't get through it well, got a little tighter, missed the apex and came back late to the throttle. , And he runs down the front stretch.

"Obviously you have to protect the inside (on turn 1), and he's just my in those two corners Ruined the angle. He did a really good job, but I didn't. Unfortunately, it was a fun race all the time. "

Larson Leads 31 of the 48 laps to 5 laps of Gibbs, winning the first two stages, but he gave Gibbs a perfect score with a clean pass of victory.

"He was able to overtake me without putting me any bumpers. When he overtook me cleanly, I felt I shouldn't run out of him. He I ran me clean, and I intended to run him clean. It didn't work. "

If the decisive pass was clean, the midpack early in the race The action provided a sharp contrast.

The contact between Noah Gragson's Chevrolet and Sage Karam caused 13 brutal car accidents on lap 25, and the third warning in the race meant that competing cars had the same tires. Placed in fuel strategy.

One of the victims of the accident, Brandon Brown, climbed from his broken car and sat on the retaining wall on Turn 4. Obviously, it was the pain of the blow he received in a melee attack.

However, when he left the Uchino Care Center after the evaluation, Brown was much better.

"I caught a pile of dust," Brown said, watching the reenactment of the incident. "It looks like 45 (columns) have turned. Lots of cars have turned. I couldn't really see anything until I saw 48 (Tyler Redick) and cultivated him.

"It was a real bowel check, a little kick into an area you don't want to hurt."

Where Gragson is concerned, Karam wasn't a charity. ..

"It was ridiculous," said Column. "I've never been in such a straight line .... It doesn't get that hot when driving a racing car. Unfortunately, he maximized his emotions today. "

Naturally, Gragson had a different perspective.

"I think he forgot three times before he threw it into the corner, opened the door and kicked him out of the race track," Gragson said. "After a while you get tired of it. I hate people's stuff being torn ...

" I'm responsible. I do it for his guys I hate it, but I'm fighting to compete for the championship here, and I'm really overrun ... he started it. It's done. It's good. "

Another victim of the wreck, Josh Berry, survived and finished in 3rd place, followed by Austin Hill and Brandon Jones. AJ Allmendinger started from the rear, carefully penalized the pit-road speed violation on lap 26, then ran to 6th and was forced to approach from the rear for the second time.

Riley Herbst, Gragson, Jeremy Clements and Ryan Sieg have completed the Top 10.

Gibbs is the 13th different winner in 13 Xfinity series races in Road America.

NASCAR Xfinity Series Race – 13th HENRY 180

Road America

Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin

Saturday, July 2, 2022

1. (2) Ty Gibbs, Toyota, 48.

2. (1) Kyle Larson (i), Chevrolet, 48.

3. (16) Josh Berry, Chevrolet, 48.

4. (10) Austin Hill #, Chevrolet, 48.

5. (14) Brandon Jones, Toyota, 48.

6. (38) AJ Allmendinger, Chevrolet, 48.

7. (3) Riley Herbst, Ford, 48.

8. (7) Noah Gragson, Chevrolet, 48.

9. (11) Jeremy Clements, Chevrolet, 48.

10. (27) Ryan Sieg, Ford, 48.

11. (21) Preston Pardus, Chevrolet, 48.

12. (15) Justin Allgaier, Chevrolet, 48.

13. (13) Josh Bilicki (i), Chevrolet, 48.

14. (23) Andy Lally, Ford, 48.

15. (18) Alex Labbe, Chevrolet, 48.

16. (30) Bayley Currey, Chevrolet, 48.

17. (31) Josh Williams, Chevrolet, 48.

18. (35) John Hunter Nemechek (i), Toyota, 48.

19. (33) Patrick Gallagher, Ford, 48.

20. (5) Sam Mayer, Chevrolet, 48.

21. (34) Jeb Burton, Chevrolet, 48.

22. (24) Jesse Iwuji #, Chevrolet, 48.

23. (19) Anthony Alfredo, Chevrolet, 47.

24. (8) Sammy Smith, Toyota, Engine, 45.

25. (4) Co le Custer (i), Ford, Accident, 43.

26. (25) Miguel Paludo, Chevrolet, Accident, 39.

27. (6) Sheldon Creed #, Chevrolet, Engine, 37.

28. (29) Chris Dyson, Chevrolet, Accident, 33.

29. (22) Daniel Hemric, Chevrolet, Accident, 27.

30. (9) Tyler Reddick (i), Chevrolet, Accident, 25.

31. (12) Sage Karam, Chevrolet, Accident, 24.

32. (20) Landon Cassill, Chevrolet, Accident, 24.

33. (32) Miat Snyder, Chevrolet, Accident, 24.

34. (36) Brandon Brown, Chevrolet, Accident, 24.

35. (17) Brett Moffitt, Chevrolet, Accident, 24.

36. (37) Joe Graf Jr., Ford, Brake, 17.

37. (26) Ty Dillon (i), Chevrolet, Header, 13.

38. (28) Will Rodgers, Toyota, Suspension, 9.

Average speed of race winners: 74. 621 mph.

Race time: 2 hours, 36 minutes, 14 seconds. Margin of victory: 0.858 seconds.

Attention flag: 5 in 12 laps.

Lead change: 9 out of 6 drivers.

Lap leader: K. Larson (i) 1-10; T. Gibbs 11-12; A. Armendinger 13; T. Gibbs 14-15; K. Larson (i) 16-25; J. Allgaier 26-28; C. Custer (i) 29-34; R. Sieg35-36; K. Larson (i) 37-47; T. Gibbs 48.

Leader Overview (Driver, Times Lead, Rap Leader): Kyle Larson (i) 3 times on 31 laps. Colecaster (i) Once in 6 laps. Thai Gibbs 3 times in 5 laps. Justin Orgeia 1 time 3 laps. Ryan Sieg Once in two laps. AJ Armendinger 1 lap once.

Stage # 1 Top 10: 17,54,07,98,19,9,1,51,16,45

Stage # 2 Top 10: 17,2,07,26 , 7,18,98,51,9,36

– NASCAR NewsWire for field-level media only