This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

USC and UCLA jump to Big Ten in 2024

Article author:



Southern California and UCLA will depart Pac-12 for the Big Ten in 2024. This is a bomb move that surprised the world of college athletics on Thursday.

Both agencies confirmed the news on Thursday night after the meeting resolved to accept them and expand to 16 teams.

The move has been since Big Ten, Pac-12, and ACC announced a strategic "alliance" focused on competitive inter-meeting scheduling in soccer, men's and women's basketball. It was realized in less than a year. An implicit agreement that member bodies do not leave one "alliance" meeting in another.

USC attended Pac-12, called the Pacific Coast Conference in 1922, and UCLA attended in 1928.

"After all, Big Ten is the best home. USC and Trojan horse athletics will move into a new world of college sports," said Mike Bourne, USC's athletic director. Stated in a statement. "We are thrilled that our values ​​are in line with the league's affiliates. We also benefit from the stability and strength of the conference. The athletic performance of the Big Ten institutions; the conference is ours. Increased visibility, exposure, and resources that bring student athletes and programs, and the ability to expand engagement with passionate graduates across the country. ”

“ The main responsibility of UCLA athletes is student athletes. "To support them and provide them with the resources and opportunities to have a representative elite experience," said Martin Jermond, UCLA Athlete Director. statement. "From increased exposure and a wider national platform for our student athletes to enhanced resources for our team, this move will maintain the legacy of UCLA Athletic for the next generation.

Pac-12 issued a statement late Thursday night, stating that it was looking to the future.

"I am very surprised and disappointed with the news from UCLA and USC today, but I have a long history of supporting student athletes in athletics, scholarship and leadership and will continue to do so. I'm confident, to prosper and grow into the future, "partially said the conference. "Pac-12 is home to many of the world's best universities, athletic programs and graduates, one of the most dynamic regions in the United States. We have long been known as the Champion Conference and its title. Our commitment to expanding is unwavering. ”

Big Ten was finally expanded with the addition of Rutgers and Maryland in 2014. This move makes them equal to SEC again. With the official participation of Texas and Oklahoma, the SEC will reach 16 member bodies.

The Pac-12 football team has only played twice in the College Football Playoff since it began in the 2014 season. Oregon (2014) and Washington (2016). Big Ten had six teams play off, and Ohio State University won its first title.

The remaining 10 schools at Pac-12 are Arizona, Arizona, Cal, Colorado, Oregon, Oregon, Stanford, Utah, Washington, and Washington.

– Field-level media