Kilmarnock's dramatic Wednesday night victory over Rangers was littered with talking points

The Ibrox side blew a 1-0 lead at Rugby Park leave their Premiership title challenge hanging by a thread.

Celtic now sit 10 points clear of Steven Gerrard's side at the Premiership summit and clawing back that advantage is a tall, tall order.

Fans on both sides felt aggrieved by certain decisions and there were, without doubt, some massive calls made by referee John Beaton.

So, with the benefit of perfect 20-20 hindsight and access to slow-motions which the official does not, we've looked back over big moments.

Gary Dicker penalty claim

Already on a yellow card, Dicker hits the deck from a Kilmarnock corner and issues half-hearted appeals for a penalty. The ball is flashed to the front post and the midfielder steps across Morelos who makes no attempt to challenge him.

The arms go up and Dicker goes down but there's nothing given from the ref. There doesn't appear to be any contact from Morelos and the Irishman is already on his way down as the ball comes across.

He also appears to clutch his face as he falls despite there being no contact - the IFAB rules state a player should be booked for any attempt to "deceive the referee".

Beaton is right not to award a penalty but the Killie captain gets lucky, having already been carded for a challenge on Ianis Hagi.

Verdict: Wrong decision - second yellow card and Dicker sent off.

Alfredo Morelos first penalty claim

Little to no doubt over this one. Morelos does well initially to drive into the area, jinking in between Rory McKenzie and Niko Hamalainen but he's looking to go down almost as soon as he steps foot in the area.

There's very slight contact from Hamalainen but nowhere near enough to bring him down and the unnatural fall is a dead giveaway. As blatant a dive as you'll see and Beaton almost immediately flashes a yellow card.

Verdict: Correct decision

McKenzie handball claim

Rangers should deal with this long before the ball ends up in the net but they certainly do have a case here. Ianis Hagi fails to cut out a square pass and Hamalainen's resulting cross is kept alive at the back post.

Chris Burke is allowed to cross and the ball drops towards McKenzie at the back post. The midfielder throws his arm in the air, a clear unnatural position and the ball brushes off it and back to Hamalainen.

The left-back's scuffed shot falls into the path of Stephen O'Donnell who strokes it home cooly.

Verdict: Wrong decision - goal ruled out and a free-kick to Rangers.

McKenzie foul on Tavernier

This one caused particular consternation among Rangers fans as McKenzie grappled with James Tavernier as he sought to break forward. There was similar ire among supporters for a near-identical incident during which Morelos was hauled back by Lewis Stevenson in Rangers' win over Hibs.

McKenzie darts across to put pressure on Tavernier but, perhaps realising the full-back is getting away, wraps both arms around his opponent to hold him back. Beaton, obviously, blows for a foul but kept his card in his pocket.

This one was the very definition of a professional foul and one you see at levels of the game, especially in pressure moments. But the Killie man really should've picked up a booking.

Verdict: Wrong decision - yellow card for McKenzie.

Morelos 2nd penalty claim

Already on a yellow for his previous dive, Morelos goes in the Killie box again as Rangers search for a winner following O'Donnell's leveller.

The ball is fed into the frontman and he looks to turn Dario del Fabro and get a shot off. The defender puts his hands on Morelos, undoubtedly, but not enough to merit the Rangers player going down the way he does.

It's one which looks markedly different in real-time than when viewed in slow motion but there's very little contact and, although there is a slight push it's not quite enough to constitute a foul nor be considered a blatant dive.

Verdict: Correct decision

Morelos disallowed goal

Morelos was convinced he'd snatched a Rangers winner as he headed in Andy Halliday's cross at the backpost. But Beaton instantly blew for a foul, much to the chagrin of the South American. Morelos was adamant the goal should've stood but replays show two hands on the back of Stuart Findlay.

Now, this is a split decision - the kind you're screaming to have awarded for your team but also one which leaves you tearing your hair out when the shoe is on the other foot.

The IFAB rules state a foul should be awarded when a player impedes his opponent with contact. In this instance, Morelos placing both hands on Findlay's back prevents the defender from jumping fully to challenge for the ball.

It's marginal, and Morelos will disagree, but Beaton was right to blow for a foul.

Verdict: Correct decision