Data released today shows the majority of Ayrshire towns and villages are suppressing coronavirus cases.

Public Health Scotland figures show COVID-19 hotspots and locations where the virus is less prevalent.

And more than two-thirds of the region's areas listed by the Scottish Government have now suppressed the virus.

The new update shows that 66 out of 91 areas have the virus in retreat.

Ayrshire as a whole reported 35 new cases in the past 24 hours with 16,439 positive tests being detected since the pandemic began.

The Ayrshire Live app is available to download now.

Get all the local news in your area – plus features, football news and the latest on the coronavirus crisis – at your fingertips 24/7.

The free download features the latest breaking news and exclusive stories while you can customise your page with the sections that matter to you.

The Ayrshire Live app is available to download now on iOS and Android.

The number of people in NHS Ayrshire & Arran hospitals has increased by two to 28. ICU numbers remain below five.

No new deaths have been recorded across Scotland.

There have been 422 new cases have been recorded with the nation's total now at 217,127.

But cases are so low in a number of Ayrshire areas they've been classes as 'suppressed' to protect patient confidentiality.

East Ayrshire

In East Ayrshire, 23 of the 30 areas are suppressed — nine more than last week.

Suppressed: Stewarton West; Stewarton East; Shortlees; Newmilns; New Farm Loch South; New Cumnock; Kilmaurs; Kilmarnock South Central and Caprington; Galston; Doon Valley North; Darvel; Bonnyton and Town Centre; Altonhill South, Longpark and Hillhead; Cumnock and Craigens; Cumnock North; Mauchline; Cumnock Rural; Piersland; Auchinleck; Earlston and Hurlford Rural; Mauchline Rural; Altonhill North and Onthank; Northern and Irvine Valley Rural.

Not suppressed: Dean and New Farm Loch North; Doon Valley South; Drongan; Bellfield and Kirkstyle; Grange, Howard and Gargieston; Crosshouse, Gatehead and Kilmaurs Rural; Southcraig and Beansburn;

North Ayrshire

In North Ayrshire 25 of 37 areas are suppressed — three more than last week.

Suppressed: Saltcoats North West; Saltcoats Central; Largs South; Largs North; Kilwinning Pennyburn; Irvine Fullarton; Irvine Broomlands; Arran; Ardrossan North West; and Ardrossan North East; Irvine East; Stevenston North West; Largs Central and Cumbrae; Skelmorlie and Rural; Ardrossan Central; West Kilbride and Seamill; Kilwinning Whitehirst Park and Woodside; Kilwinning Central and North; Saltcoats North East; Springside and Rural; Irvine Bourtreehill; Irvine Castlepark South; Beith East and Rural; Irvine Castlepark North; Irvine Central; Fairlie and Rural.

Not Supressed: Dalry West; Kilbirnie North; Kilbirnie South and Longbar; Stevenston Hayocks; Stevenston Ardeer; Dalry East and Rural; Dreghorn; Irvine Perceton and Lawthorn; Beith West; Irvine Tarryholme; Irvine Girdle Toll and Stanecastle; Kilwinning West and Blacklands.

South Ayrshire

In South Ayrshire 18 of 25 areas are suppressed — five more than last week.

Suppressed: Troon; Prestwick Airport and Monkton; Maybole; Holmston and Forehill; Girvan Glendoune; Girvan Ailsa; Carrick South; Carrick North; Barassie; Prestwick West; Maybole; Lochside, Braehead and Whitletts; Annbank, Mossblown and Tarbolton – the coalfields; Dalmilling; Belmont; Alloway and Doonfoot; Ayr North Harbour, Wallacetown and Newton South; Muirhead; and Prestwick East.

Not suppressed: Heathfield; Newton North; Coylton; Castlehill and Kincaidston; Dundonald, Loans and Symington; Ayr South Harbour and Town Centre.

Don't miss the latest Ayrshire headlines – sign up to our free daily newsletter here