Over the last few months, WhatsApp users have been wanting to know what is going on with their data.

WhatsApp, which is owned by Facebook, has recently been combining its services to enable more cross-functionality with Messenger.

It is also making it easier for private businesses to interact with customers over WhatsApp.

However, conversations are still encrypted - and this will not change.

When WhatsApp first tried to change its privacy policy in January, its competitors Telegram and Signal gained more than 30 million new users.

The change was postponed, and WhatsApp will roll out banner ads to explain the new policy to users and prompt them to opt in.

The buttons of WhatsApp, Snapchat, Skype Music
A new WhatsApp privacy update is set for May 15.

But we now know what will happen if you decide to not agree with the changes.

Those that decide not to accept the new privacy policy will no longer be able to access the app's features from 15 May.

Speaking to TechCrunch, the company said: “For a short time, these users will [still] be able to receive calls and notifications, but will not be able to read or send messages from the app.”

The logo of service WhatsApp.
Those that don't accept the update will lose features.

This would change over time, eventually stopping users from using the app altogether.

The company went on to say, “‘Personal messages will always be end-to-end encrypted, so WhatsApp can’t read or listen to them. ‘We’ve reflected on what we could have done better here. We want everyone to know our history of defending end-to-end encryption and trust we’re committed to protecting people’s privacy and security.

“Eventually, we’ll start reminding people to review and accept these updates to keep using WhatsApp.”