Saint Kitts
This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Cricket : New Vision and Empire Take Championship Honours

A sizeable and vociferous crowd was present at the ET Willet Park, on Sunday 23rd July.

On that day, the grand finals in the second and first divisions of the National Bank-sponsored T-10 tournament, hosted by the Nevis Cricket Association were held.

In game one, New Vision came up against neighbours, Highlights two.

Highlights two batted first and as had been the case all season, got off to an impressive and rapid start, complements of openers, Patrice Nisbett and Dewan Phillip.

However, once they were parted, as has also been the case, the batting struggled.

Highlights Two eventually got to a total of 82 for 3 from their allotted 10 overs.

New Vision in response, started shakily, despite a rapid start by Jelani Manners.

It took a partnership from Captain Tyri Jeffers and Tyrell Mills, to steer the team home to victory in 8.1 overs and to the championship trophy and cheque.

Summarized scores: Highlights two: 82 for 3 in 10 overs: Patrice Nisbett 30; Dewan Phillip 29
Jelani Manners 1 for 6; Carlon Smithen 1 for 11

New Vision 83 for 3 in 8.1 overs: Tyri Jeffers 27*; Jelani Manners 19; Tyrell Mills 18*
Jones, Phillip and Nisbett 1 wicket each
New Vision won by 7 wickets
Man of the match -Tyri Jeffers

The much-anticipated game two saw the finals in the first division between Empire and Highlights One.

Empire won the toss and elected to bat first.

Empire-1st Division ChampIon

They got off to the worse possible start, losing Javier Liburd and Jelani Manners, with just 7 runs on the board.

However, the youthful Hosea Pluck played excellent, shot-filled innings, helped by the big-hitting of Nelson Boland, to get Empire to a competitive 87 for 8 at the end of 10 overs.

Highlights one in response, started impressively, with Mikyle Louis and Patrice Nisbett, both playing their shots, all around the Park.

For a moment, it looked as if Highlights One, would be clear, runaway winners, at 36 for no loss from 4.4 overs.

Then it happened: Nisbett was caught and bowled by Rakeesh and then Skipper Adelvin Phillip tightened the screws, with a superb over.

Suddenly, the Highlights team was in a struggle for survival.

With two overs remaining, the Highlights team needed a nigh impossible 28 runs.

Enter Adrian Williams and he proceeded to hit Adelvin Phillip 4, 4, 6, with a total of 16 runs coming from the penultimate over and once again turned the game on its head.

Highlights now needed 12 runs from the final over.

The Empire hierarchy met to decide who would bowl that critical over.

The over was entrusted to Jelani Manners.

First ball up, Dewan Phillip promptly deposited it towards Swannie’s, for a huge maximum.

Six runs required from 5 balls. Mission possible!

Jelani Manners then proceeded to bowl a superb remainder of the over, picking up the wickets of Phillip and Jeffers in the process and the Empire team celebrated.

They had won by a nail-biting 4 runs!

Empire the first division T-10 champions!

Summarized scores: Empire 87 for 8 in 10 overs: Mikyle Louis 35; Patrice Nisbett 14; Adrian Williams 14*
Jelani Manners 3 for 9; Adelvin Phillip 2 for 23; Rakeesh Subnarine 1 for 5
Empire won by 4 runs
Man of the match-Mikyle Louis

The awards ceremony was held shortly after the completion of the second game, ably chaired by the President of the Nevis Cricket Association, Carlisle Powell.

Other persons delivering brief remarks were: Minister of Sports, Hon. Troy Liburd and National Bank sponsor’s rep, Manager, Ms. Keesha Jones.

Monetary awards were delivered to deserving individuals and teams:

Most runs, most wickets, MVP, most catches, runners up, man of the match and champion teams.