Saint Kitts
This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

VOJN Takes Championship Honours and The Top Prizes in Primary Schools’ Cricket Finals

A vast and vociferous crowd was in attendance at the ET Willet Park, on Thursday 6th July, as the grand finals in the Runako Morton/TDC Primary Schools’ cricket championship was held.

The two teams facing off were the Charlestown Primary School and the VOJN Primary School.

VOJN won the toss and opted to bat first.

Deshawn James -Man of the Match

Skipper De ‘Morae Prentice and DeShawn James got off to an excellent start before James was brilliantly run out, by a superb bit of fielding by Captain Hero.

Te’Jahni Daniel joined Prentice and both batted superbly to the end, to take their team to a challenging total of 83 for 1 at the end of 10 overs.

The Charlestown Primary team started like a run-away train in response and after just two overs, was already on 30 for no loss, with Hero and Persaud looking good and the VOJN bowling gifting a huge number of extras.

However, once Hero was bowled and caught by opposing Skipper, Prentice, the game literally turned on its head and Deshawn James followed up with a hat trick and then the proverbial ‘fat lady’ entered the ETW.

The Charlestown Primary School was effectively bowled out for 62 and oh how the VOJN team and their supporters celebrated!

Charlestown Primary would have previously won the Primary school’s football championship and the Interprimary athletics meet for 2023. However, as the VOJN Primary School hosts its annual graduation ceremony today-Friday 7th July, they have a tournament to celebrate.

The man of the match was Deshawn James.

Immediately after the game, Carl Tuckett chaired the official closing and awards ceremony.

The following awards were presented:

Most improved team-Joycelyn Liburd Primary (St. Thomas’ Primary a close second)

Batsman with the most runs-Deshawn James of VOJN-139 runs

Bowler with the most wickets-De ’Morae Prentice of VOJN-11 wickets

Best wicketkeeper-Te’Jahni Daniel-of VOJN

Player of the tournament-De ’Morae Prentice

Third place trophy-St. Thomas’ Primary

Second place trophy and medals-Charlestown Primary

Championship trophy and medals-VOJN Primary

Long-serving Sports Journalist, Curtis Morton, was also presented with a surprise plaque for his coverage of Primary Schools cricket over the 28 years of its existence.