This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Majoro attends SADC Summit

By Thoboloko Ntšonyane

MASERU – The Prime Minister (PM) Dr. Moeketsi Majoro has attended the 42nd Ordinary Southern African Development Community (SADC) Summit where Heads of State and Government met from August 17 – today – to 18 2022 in Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC).

The Summit was held under the theme ‘Promoting industrialization through, agro-processing, mineral beneficiation, and regional value chains for inclusive and resilient economic growth’.

This theme is envisaged to build on the implementation of the SADC Regional Indicative Strategic Development Plan (RISDP) 2020-2030 which aims to “deepen” the regional integration as well as foster the support critical for Industrial Development and Market Integration.

President Félix Tshisekedi Tshilombo, of the Democratic Republic of Congo, will take over the chairpersonship of SADC from Dr. Lazarus Chakwera, the President of Malawi who assumed the chairpersonship on August 17, 2021, during the 41st SADC Summit held in Lilongwe, Malawi.

The Summit was preceded by the meetings and events, which include the SADC Organ Troika Summit, the Meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers, and the Meetings of the Standing Committee of Senior Officials and Finance Committee Meetings.

Despite the PM dismissing the reports that Lesotho could be banned from participating if the parliament is not recalled to pass the 11th Amendment to the Constitution, it is expected that the Head of State and Government would want to be apprised of the status of the recalling of the Parliament to pass these outstanding bill ahead of elections.

SADC had closely monitored the reforms process through the SADC Facilitation Team which is headed by the retired Deputy Chief Justice Dikgang Moseneke of South Africa.

It would be recalled that the 41st SADC Summit had recommended an extension of the mandate of the National Reform Authority (NRA) for a period of six months, from 30th October 2021 to 30th April 2022.

PM’s delegation consists of the Minister of Home Affairs and International Relations Hon. ‘Matšepo Ramakoae, the Principal Secretary Thabo Mokoto and the Minister of Finance Hon. Thabo Sophonea.