This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Chiradzulu District Council elects new Chairperson

Members of Chiradzulu District Council, during a full council meeting on Tuesday morning elected Mombezi Ward Councillor, Charles Chigwenembe of the Democratic Progressive Party (DPP) as council chairperson.

Councillor Chigwenembwe got 8 votes beating his contender councillor Phillis Mazinga from Mitumbira ward with 5 votes.

Chikowa Ward Councillor, Patrick Chimtengo withdrew in the last minute of the elections though he contested in the last two elections that ended in a tie.

In his acceptance speech, Chigwenembwe promised to develop Chiradzulu district as this was his campaign promise throughout.

He pledged to do his best to ensure transparency and accountability in the council affairs to ensure that the local authority deliver services in the best interest of the people of Chiradzulu.

In the recent full council meetings on August 23, 2023, council members elected Diston Mphero of Lirangwe Ward as vice council chairperson with 9 votes while Mbulumbudzi Ward councillor, Nelson Mwandama got 5 votes.

Subscribe to our Youtube Channel:

Robert Ngwira
Robert Ngwira

Attended Our Future Private Secondary School in Rumphi from 2006-2009 Holder of Diploma in Journalism from Malawi Institute of Journalism (MIJ) Hobbies, reading newspapers, going out with friends, listening to radio and watching football. Email: