This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

SA win AST Bowls gold

South Africa dominated the African States Bowls Tournament that came to an end in Windhoek on Friday, after claiming gold in both the overall men and women’s categories.

The host nation, Namibia, however, produced its best performance in recent years, claiming the overall silver medal in the women’s category and the overall bronze medal in the men’s category. 

The other overall medallists were Botswana’s men who claimed the silver medal and Zimbabwe’s women who claimed the bronze medal. 

On the final day’s play on Friday, South Africa claimed gold in both the men’s singles and fours competitions. 

In the men’s singles category, South Africa’s Wayne Roberts claimed the gold medal after a comprehensive 21-3 victory over Namibia’s JP Fouche.

That saw him finishing on 12 points, after four victories, while his only defeat was a narrow 21-20 loss to Kenya’s Cephas Kimwaki. 

Baven Balendra of Botswana just pipped Kimwaki to the silver medal, after they both finished on nine points, but Balendra had a slightly better shot difference. 

SA also claimed gold in the men’s fours competition after winning all five their matches. 

The SA team of Niksa Benguric, Charles Mathewson, Victor Siphali and John Molupi finished first on 15 points, while the five other nations all finished on six points each. 

The Namibian team of Axel Krahenbuhl, Graham Snyman, Colin Peake and Kat Steenkamp, however, had the best shot difference, to claim the silver medal, while the Botswana team of Charles Diteko, Kabo Gaboutloeloe, Kaizer Geche and Edwin Nyoka claimed the bronze medal. 

In the women’s pairs competition, the Zambian team of Foster Banda and Getrude Siame won the gold medal with a total of 12 points, while South Africa’s Francesca Baleri and Marizelle Rousseau claimed silver with 10 points, and Namibia’s Diana Viljoen and Bianca Lewis bronze with nine points. 

In the women’s trips competition, the Botswana team of Jocerlyn Moshokgo, Gaoromelwe Pelemo and Molatedi Douma won the gold medal with 12 points, while Kenya just pipped South Africa to the silver medal on shot difference after they both finished on nine points. 

The Kenyan team consisted of Eunice Mbugua, Fridah Mwangi and Celestine Masila, while the South African team consisted of Jacqui Jansen van Rensburg, Dezi Rosenblatt and Panashe Ziramba.