This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.


MBABANE – Out of the eight Cabinet Ministers who were elected into Parliament, only one will not be vying for a seat in the 12th Parliament.

Seven of these ministers who were elected under the Member of Parliament (MP) category in the 2018 elections, have been nominated to once again represent their constituents in Parliament, except for Minister of Sports, Culture and Youth Affairs Harries ‘Madze’ Bulunga, who was a no-show at his constituency during the nominations. Bulunga is the outgoing MP for Mbabane East Constituency. The nominated members of Cabinet are Minister of Education and Training Lady Mabuza, Minister of Labour and Social Security Phila Buthelezi, Minister of Economic Planning and Development Dr Tambo Gina, Minister of Public Service Mabulala Maseko, Minister of Tourism and Environmental Affairs Moses Vilakati, Minister of Tinkhundla  Administration and Development David ‘Cruiser’ Ngcamphalala and Minister of Agriculture Jabulani Mabuza.


It is worth mentioning that three of the ministers, if successful in the elections, would not be appointed for a seat at Hospital Hill, as they have already served two terms. This is because ministers are not eligible to serve two consecutive terms, procedurally. These are Minister Mabuza, Minister of Tinkhundla Ngcamphalala and Minister of Tourism and Environmental Affairs Vilakati. Meanwhile, four outgoing MPs, including Bulunga, will not stand for the elections. The others are Mbabane West outgoing MP Musa Zwane, outgoing Manzini North MP Macford Sibandze and outgoing Timphisini MP Nelson Mamba. The outgoing legislators did not participate in the nomination process, expressing no desire to return to the House of Assembly.

All the other 51 outgoing MPs were nominated in their respective imiphakatsi, except for outgoing Nkilongo MP Timothy Myeni, whose case is pending in court, following his disqualification to stand elections at Lubulini Inkhundla. The list is short of incarcerated outgoing MPs in Mduduzi Bacede Mabuza of Hosea, Mthandeni Dube of Ngwempisi and Allen Stewart of Lobamba. Sithobelweni’s outgoing MP Bhekitje Dlamini, said he was delighted that the people of his constituency once again showed confidence in him and nominated him to represent them in Parliament. He said there were projects he needed to see through as some were delayed by COVID-19. Siphocosini outgoing MP Mduduzi Matsebula said the people of Siphocosini appreciated what he did for the constituency in his five-year tenure in Parliament and that was evident when they nominated him again.

Matsebula said he really appreciated the confidence the electorate had in him and shared that he would continue where he left off if he won the elections. “It is really humbling to see people showing so much appreciation and love, especially when you know you have done a lot for them,” he said. Outgoing Mhlangatane MP Madala Mhlanga, whose nomination was also highlighted by chanting and singing by the electorate, said he was grateful to the people of the constituency for seeing it fit to make him one of the contenders for the MP position and he shared that he was 100 per cent ready for the challenge. “This to me means that I executed my mandate well to the satisfaction of the people, hence they want me to continue representing them in Parliament, a task that I’m ready to do,” he said.

He also mentioned that he had a lot to do as far as projects in the constituency were concerned as some were delayed by COVID-19. Mhlanga will be competing against outgoing Mhlume MP Victor Malambe, who was also nominated for the MP position at Mhlangatane. Outgoing Ludzeludze MP Vusi Swali also said he was happy to be nominated again.