This article was added by the user . TheWorldNews is not responsible for the content of the platform.

Live Update: Rep. Liz Cheney Loses Wyoming GOP Primary

  Updated 12 minutes ago

Wyoming House Republican Primary Election: CBS News Project Harriet Hageman Wins

CBS News predicts that Harriet Hedgeman will win the Republican primary for Wyoming's General House seat. 


United States House of Representatives Alaska Republican Primary

Sarah Palin, Mary Peltra, Nick Begich


Republican primaries for the Alaska Senate

Senators Lisa Markowski, Kelly Tshibaka, Patricia Chesbro, Dustin Darden, Edgar Blatchford, Shoshana Gangerstein, Hankie Lee, Sean Thorn, Ivan Taylor, Baz Kelly, Al Merrill, Pat Norrin, John Seeth, Kendall Shaw Key, Karl Speights, Dave Durden, Sidney Hill, Jeremy Keller, and Joe Stevens are on the ballot. 


CBS News Project Principal Liz Cheney, one of the former President Donald Trump's most fierce critics in Wyoming's Republican primary, He lost to Trump endorser Harriet Hedgeman. 

Cheney told CBS News' Robert He Costa on Tuesday before the polls closed that the primary was "certainly the start of a battle that will continue." 

She looks beyond the congressional campaign to the battle she has waged to hold Trump accountable for his efforts to overturn the 2020 election. I was. Cheney said, "As a country, we are facing a moment when our democracy is really under attack and threat. 

"I am extremely proud of all the work I have done with the people of Wyoming over the past six years, and there are more important things than upholding our Constitution." 

She was the last of ten Republicans to vote to impeach Trump to face a major challenge. Only 2 of these 10 will win and advance to the general election in November, 4 have either retired or decided not to run for re-election, and the other 3 are the main challengers. 

But Cheney, once the No. She was the vice chairman of the House committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021 attack on the Capitol, and one of only two Republicans on the committee. 

Rep. Liz Cheney and her father, former Vice President Dick Cheney, on Aug. 16, 2022. CBS News/Robert Costa

Republicans in Wyoming condemned and denied her, a move largely symbolic. While Republican House leadership typically backs the incumbent, House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy has followed Trump in favor of Hageman.

Hageman was once Trump's president. A critic, she endorsed Senator Ted Cruz in the 2016 election, but now she's accepting his support and his baseless allegations that the 2020 election was stolen. 102}

Cheney has risen to national prominence for his crusade against the former president,but has not closed the door to the 2024 presidential election.2024 In 2018, there is an empty road for Republicans like Cheney. In a recent Morning Her Consult poll for the 2024 primary, she was just 2% behind her.

Another Trump opponent, Sen. Lisa Markowski of Alaska, is one of her seven Republican senators who voted to impeach Trump, in Tuesday's vote. are participating in But Mr. Markowski has at least two factors for her: Alaska has an open primary system, with the top four voters advancing to her November general election; introduced rank-selection voting for the 2020 general election.

Markowski, also from a powerful political dynasty, has returned from the political graveyard before. He was first nominated to the seat in 2002 and elected in 2004. Markowski lost the primary in 2010 but became the first U.S. Senator to win as a write-in candidate in over 50 years. . She easily won re-election in her 2016, but in 2018 she turned against Trump, including voting against Supreme Court Justice Brett Kavanaugh. Sarah Palin on a ballot. Palin was the top vote-getter in her June primary of 48. This seat has been open since many years of parliament. Don Young died in March

but in a July Alaska Survey Research poll ranked

The top vote-getters in Tuesday's race ended in January. Complete the remainder of Young's term. All three of her candidates to be voted on Tuesday will be on the ballot in November's general election.